series 35

The activities of 35th Series of SPP started in October 2011. The Council contacted experts from Indian Institute of Science and various R&D institutions in identifying thrust areas for selection of student projects.

Thrust Areas

Following are thrust areas recommended by the experts for student projects.

  • Geotechnical and Earthquake related studies - Soil mapping using borelog data, site effects and amplification.
  • Climate Change - Technologies for monitoring / modelling.
  • Cyber Physical Systems - WSNs, Control, Communication, Monitoring, Sensing, etc.
  • Physical Layer Security.
  • Cognitive Radio - Spectrum Sensing, Algorithms.
  • Design and Development of Educational tools / Laboratory Equipments
  • Water Technology and Waste Water Treatment Technologies
  • Energy efficient devices
  • Agro and Food Processing Technologies
  • Health Care and Management
  • Education - Development of Equipments / Experiments / Software / smart classes
  • Information Technology for rural areas
  • Waste processing and wealth from waste
  • Any other innovative projects

Facts and Figures

The Council received 1073 project proposals from various disciplines from 103 institutions in the State. These proposals were scrutinized by experts from Indian Institute of Science and other R&D institutions. After rigorous processing, 307 proposals from 80 engineering colleges were supported and sponsored with a total financial assistance of about Rs. 16.85 Lakhs. Additionally KSCST & Karnataka State Bio-fuel Development board (KSBDB) jointly supported 31 projects biofuel / bioenergy area.

Demonstration of the implemented projects were evaluated by experts. Based on methodology and final output, 86 projects were selected for Seminar and 90 for Exhibition.


The Council organised the 35th Series Seminar and Exhibition on 13th and 14th July 2012, at Shree Dharmasthala Manjunatheswara Institute of Technology, Ujire. The programme was inaugurated on 12th July 2012 at 10.00 AM by Prof. B. N. Raghunandan, Divisional Chairman, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Padmabhushana Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade, President, SDM Educational Society, Ujire presided over the inagural function. Prof. S. Prabhakar, Vice President, SDM Education Society, Ujire released the SPP Engineering Compendium. Sri. D Harshendra Kumar, Secretary, SDM Education Society, Ujire released SPP Compendium on Biofuel Projects. Prof. S. Mohan Kumar, Secretary and Dr. M. Prithviraj, Executive Secretary, KSCST participated in the programme and encouraged the young engineers to take up more R&D related activities.

Seminars and Exhibition of selected projects were held in those two days. The projects exhibited were evaluated by a panel of scientists and engineers from Indian Institute of Science and National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore and other research organizations. In addition to these, special lectures were arranged. Prof. R Vitthal Rao, Deptartment of Electronic Systems Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore delivered lecture on "Raman Mathematics - Simple Illustrations" on 13th July 2012. Technical lectures continued on 14th July 2012 with Sri. Arun Bharadwaj, Director, Business Development, Global Alliances of Dell Corporation, Bangalore, delivering technical lecture on "Indian Aerospace Scenario" and Dr. Mohan Kumar delivering a technical lecture on "Bridging gap between Industry and Academia". Both lectures were well received by the students and faculty and other people who attended the function.


Valedictory programme was held on 14th July 2012 at 3.30 PM. Sri. M. Naveen Kumar, IAAS Managing Director, Power Company of Karnataka Ltd., Government of Karnataka, was the Chief Guest. Prof. K. A. Krishnamurthy, Principal, Sri Siddartha Institute of Technology, Tumkur, was the guest of honor. Dr. B. Yashovarma, Secretary, SDM Education Society, Ujire presided over the function. 10 projects were selected as best seminar projects, 11 projects as best exhibit projects and 4 projects qualified for the special award of the year by a panel of experts. Under biofuel projects three projects was adjudicated as best projects and awarded. Prizes were distribued to award winning projects and colleges. The best performing college of the year award went to Siddhaganga Institute of Technology, Tumkur.


© 2015 Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology,
Indian Institute of Science Campus,
Bengaluru - 560 012.
All rights reserved.

+91 80 2334 1652/8848/8849
+91 80 2334 8840
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Sitemap